Network Cities and Countries of Art and History

Network Cities and Countries of Art and History

Stemming from a partnership with collectivities, the "City or Country of art and history" label, created in 1985, is awarded by the Minister of Culture, following the advice of the National Council of Cities and Countries of art and history, composed of elected officials and experts.

The " City or Country of art and history" label qualify territories, municipalities or associations of local authorities which make a commitment in an active approach of knowledge, preservation, mediation, valuation of the heritage and the contemporary architecture, and the support to the quality of the living environment. it aims at integrating, in the same approach, the elements which contribute to the identity of a territory rich in its history and fort of its capacity of creation.

The label allows the development of a cultural project registered in a overall project of territory, aiming at the development of the architectural, urban and landscaped heritage.

In 2018, this network account 190 Artistic and Historical Towns and Areas among which 10 certified territories in Region Center-valley of the Loire (Bourges, Chinon, Loaches, Tours, Blois, Vendôme, Orléans, Pays Loire Touraine, Pays of the valley of the Cher and the Romorantinais, Pays Loire Val d'Aubois)

Website of DRAC Centre-Val de Loire 

Website of the Ministry of Culture on the label Cities and Countries of Art and History

Website of Sites and remarkable cities 

Go up

Réseau Villes et Pays d'art et d'histoire

Réseau Villes et Pays d'art et d'histoire

Issu d'un partenariat avec les collectivités territoriales, le label "Ville ou Pays d'art et d'histoire", crée en 1985, est attribué par la ministre de la Culture, après avis du conseil national des Villes et Pays d'art et d'histoire, composé d'élus et d'experts.

Le label "Ville ou Pays d'art et d'histoire" qualifie des territoires, communes ou regroupements de communes qui s'engagent dans une démarche active de connaissance, de conservation, de médiation, de valorisation du patrimoine et de l'architecture contemporaine, et de soutien à la qualité du cadre de vie. Il a pour but d'intégrer, dans la même démarche, les éléments qui contribuent à l'identité d'un territoire riche de son histoire et fort de sa capacité de création. 

Le label permet le développement d'un projet culturel inscrit dans un projet global de territoire, visant à la mise en valeur du patrimoine architectural, urbain et paysager. 

En 2017, le réseau compte 186 Villes et Pays d'art et d'histoire dont 10 territoires labellisés en Région Centre-Val de Loire (Bourges, Chinon, Loches, Tours, Blois, Vendôme, Orléans, Pays Loire Touraine, Pays de la vallée du Cher et du Romorantinais, Pays Loire Val d'Aubois)

Site internet de la DRAC Centre-Val de Loire 

Site internet du ministère de la Culture sur le label Villes et Pays d'art et d'histoire

Site internet de Sites et Cités remarquables (Association des Villes et Pays d'art et d'histoire et des Sites patrimoniaux)

Aller en haut