Genesis of the project

Genesis of the project

Since 2010, the Country the Loire Valley of Aubois is certified "Country of art and history" by the Ministry of Culture. He so committed in an approach of raising awareness of the inhabitants, the young audience, the visitors and the professionals to the architectural and landscaped quality. The project which stands out as lever for the development of the territory for already more than a decade is the one of the valuation of the industrial heritage. Although this territory is rural, we can see the tracks of an important industrial life in the first one then second half there of the XIXth century. Blast furnaces, forges, houses of workers, channels and factories are the visible witnesses of this past among which researchers and associations develop knowledge. The Val d' Aubois so qualifies himself, for the specialists, as an example of the French case of the development of the industry in rural areas. This strong axis juxtaposes with other types of built and landscaped heritage : religious heritage, strengthened heritage, natural heritage and finally rural and vernacular heritage (barns with canopy, wash houses, mills, etc.).

The cultural project "Country of art and history associates in its approach all the elements, the natural, landscaped, architectural and urban heritage and the furniture, the technical and ethnological heritage, which contribute to the identity of a territory by associating the citizens and by implying the actors who participate in the architectural and landscaped quality of the living environment.

The idea to implant a center of interpretation in this former industrial site at the edge of the canal of Berry is already evoked in the application file of the "Country of art and history" label. This heritage testifies of a rich industrial past in particular with the oven Hoffman of the beginning of the XXth century, made up of two parallel galleries 32 meters in length.

Go up

Genèse du projet

Genèse du projet

Depuis 2010, le Pays Loire Val d'Aubois est labelisé "Pays d'art et d'histoire" par le ministère de la Culture. Il s'est engagé dans une approche visant à sensibiliser les habitants, les jeunes, les visiteurs et les professionnels à la qualité architecturale et paysagère du territoire. Le projet qui se définit comme un levier pour le développement du territoire depuis déjà plus d'une décennie est celui de la valorisation du patrimoine industriel. Bien que ce territoire soit rural, on peut déceler les traces d'une vie industrielle importante dans la première moitié du XIXème siècle. Les hauts fourneaux, les forges, les logements ouvriers, les canaux et les usines sont les témoins visibles de ce passé parmi lesquels les chercheurs et les associations développent des connaissances. Le Val d'Aubois se qualifie ainsi, pour les spécialistes, comme l'exemple du cas français du développement de l'industrie dans les zones rurales. Ce solide axe se juxtapose avec d'autres types de patrimoine bâti et paysager: l'héritage religieux, le patrimoine fortifié, le patrimoine naturel et enfin le patrimoine rural et bâti (granges à auvent, lavoirs, moulins, etc.).

Le projet culturel "Pays d'art et d'histoire" associe dans sa démarche tous les éléments, l'héritage naturel, paysager, architectural et urbain, l'héritage technique et ethnologique, qui contribue à l'identité d'un territoire en associant les citoyens et en impliquant les acteurs qui participent à la qualité architecturale et à la qualité du cadre de vie.

L'idée d'implanter un centre d'interprétation dans cet ancien site industriel au bord du canal du Berry est déjà évoquée dans le dossier de candidature au label "Pays d'art et d'histoire". Cet héritage témoigne d'un passé industriel riche avec en particulier le four Hoffman du début du siècle XXe siècle, composé de deux galeries parallèles de 32 mètres de longueur.

Aller en haut